Musæ (´).—The Muses, daughters of Jupiter and Mnemosyne, were nine in number, and presided over the different kinds of poetry, the arts and sciences. Their names and special attributes were as follows: (i) Calliope (kal-lī´o-pē), the muse of epic poetry; (ii) Clio (klī´ō), of history; (iii) Erato (er ´a-tō), of erotic poetry and mimic imitation; (iv) Euterpe (ū-ter ´), of lyric poetry; (v) Melpomene (mel-pom ´en-ē), of tragedy; (vi) Polyhymnia (pol-i-him ´ni-a ), of the sublime hymn; (vii) Terpsichore (terp-sik ´o-rē), of choral song and dancing; (viii) Thalia (tha-li ´a ), of comedy; and (ix) Urania (ū-rā´ni-a ), of astronomy. The favorite haunt of the Muses was Mount Helicon in Bœotia, where were the sacred fountains of Aganippe and Hippocrene. Mount Parnassus was also sacred to them.